

# Shire of Quairading

Special Strategic Planning Committee Meeting Minutes



#### **Disclaimer**

Members of the public should note that in any discussion regarding any planning or other application that any statement or intimation of approval made by any member or officer of the Shire of Quairading during the course of any meeting is not intended to be and is not to be taken as notice of approval from the Shire of Quairading. No action should be taken on any item discussed at a Council meeting prior to written advice on the resolution of the Council being received.

Any plans or documents contained in this document may be subject to copyright law provisions (Copyright Act 1968, as amended) and the express permission of the copyright owner(s) should be sought prior to the reproduction.

## Table of Contents

ITEM 1	OPENING & ANNOUNCEMENTS	. 4
ITEM 2	ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES	. 4
ITEM 3	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST	. 4
ITEM 4	ELECTION OF PRESIDING MEMBER	. 5
	CLOSURE	

#### SHIRE OF QUAIRADING

The Minutes of the Special Strategic Planning Committee Meeting held on Thursday 31<sup>st</sup> October 2019 commencing at 4.18 pm.

#### ITEM 1 OPENING & ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chief Executive Officer opened the Meeting at 4.18 pm.

"Before we start our Meeting, I would like to acknowledge that we are meeting on Noongar / Ballardong land and we pay respect to the original custodians...past, present and future and welcome you all here today for this Meeting".

#### ITEM 2 ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES

#### Councillors

Cr B McGuinness (Assumed the Chair at 4.25 pm)

Cr WMF Davies Shire President

Cr JN Haythornthwaite Deputy Shire President

Cr BR Cowcill

Cr JW Haythornthwaite

Cr JR Hippisley Cr PD Smith Cr TJ Stacey

#### **Council Officers**

Mr GA Fardon Chie Executive Officer

Mr A Rourke Executive Manager of Works & Services
Mr N Gilfellon Executive Manager of Corporate Services

Mr RM Bleakley IPR/Strategic Projects Officer

Mrs A Strauss Executive Officer

#### **Apologies**

Nil.

### **Leave of Absence Previously Granted**

Nil.

#### ITEM 3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Councillors to use pro forma declaration of interest handed to Chief Executive Officer prior to meeting or verbal declaration of interest.

Nil, at this time.

#### ITEM 4 ELECTION OF PRESIDING MEMBER

The Chief Executive Officer conducted proceedings for the Call for Nominations and the Election of the Presiding Member.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that nominations for the Office of Presiding Member must be made in writing to himself. The following written nominations were received at the Meeting.

Cr Trevor Stacey nominated Cr Brett McGuinness.

Cr Brett McGuinness verbally accepted the Nomination.

Cr John Haythornthwaite nominated Cr Peter Smith.

Cr Peter Smith verbally accepted the Nomination.

The Chief Executive Officer called for any further nominations and there were no further nominations received.

A Secret Ballot Election was conducted by the Chief Executive Officer.

The Chief Executive Officer declared the result of the Election with Cr Brett McGuinness receiving 5 Votes and Cr Smith receiving 3 Votes.

The CEO declared that Cr Brett McGuinness has been elected to the Office of Presiding Member for a term of two (2) years concluding in October 2023.

Cr McGuinness assumed the Chair at 4.25pm.

#### ITEM 5 CLOSURE

There being no further business, the Chairman closed the Special Strategic Planning Committee Meeting at 4.26 pm.

I certify the Minutes of the Special Strategic Planning Committee Meeting held on 31st October 2019 were confirmed on 11th February 2020 as recorded.