

Shire of Quairading

Special Council Meeting Minutes

21st October 2019

Disclaimer

Members of the public should note that in any discussion regarding any planning or other application that any statement or intimation of approval made by any member or officer of the Shire of Quairading during the course of any meeting is not intended to be and is not to be taken as notice of approval from the Shire of Quairading. No action should be taken on any item discussed at a Council meeting prior to written advice on the resolution of the Council being received.

Any plans or documents contained in this document may be subject to copyright law provisions (Copyright Act 1968, as amended) and the express permission of the copyright owner(s) should be sought prior to the reproduction.

Table of Contents

ITEM 1	OPENING & ANNOUNCEMENTS	.4
ITEM 2	ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES	.4
ITEM 3	ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT	.5
ITEM 4	ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT	.5
ITEM 5	PUBLIC QUESTION TIME	.5
ITEM 6	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST	.5
ITEM 8	CLOSURE	.6

SHIRE OF QUAIRADING

The Minutes of the Special Council Meeting held on Monday 21st October 2019 commencing at 6.10 pm.

Swearing in of New Elected Members

The Swearing In Ceremony for the new five (5) elected members was conducted prior to the commencement of the meeting and was officiated by the Chief Executive Officer and witnessed by Mrs Shirley Stacey, Justice of the Peace.

ITEM 1 OPENING & ANNOUNCEMENTS

In accordance with Schedule 2.3 (3) of the Local Government Act 1995, the CEO presided at the Meeting until the Office of Shire President is filled.

The Chief Executive Officer opened the Meeting at 6.10 pm.

The Chief Executive Officer welcomed Councillors and Visitors to the meeting and advised that the order of proceedings would be the Election of Shire President and the Election of Deputy Shire President.

The Chief Executive Officer also welcomed Mrs Shirley Stacey, Justice of the Peace, who would witness the Declaration of Offices for the Shire President and Deputy Shire President.

ITEM 2 ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES

Councillors

Cr WMF Davies (Assumed the Chair at 6.13 pm) Cr JN Haythornthwaite Cr JR Cowcill Cr JR Hippisley Cr B McGuinness Cr PD Smith Cr TJ Stacey

Council Officers

Mr GA Fardon	Chief Executive Officer
Mr A Rourke	Executive Manager of Works & Services
Mr N Gilfellon	Executive Manager of Corporate Services

Justice of the Peace

Mrs Shirley Stacey

Observers/Visitor

Mr Darryl Richards Mr Scott Bavin Mrs Jenna Bavin Mrs Mary Stacey Ms Annie Hayes Mrs Liz Smith

Apologies

Mr RM Bleakley

IPR/Strategic Projects Officer

Leave of Absence Previously Granted

ITEM 3 ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Chief Executive Officer advised that nominations for the Office of Shire President must be in writing to himself. The following written nomination was received at the Meeting.

Cr Jo Haythornthwaite nominated Cr Davies

Cr Davies verbally accepted the Nomination.

The Chief Executive Officer called for any further written nominations.

There being no further nominations for the Office of Shire President, Cr Davies was declared elected to the Office of Shire President for a term of two (2) years concluding in October 2023.

Cr Davies proceeded to take the Declaration of Office of Shire President officiated by the Chief Executive Officer and witnessed by Mrs Stacey, Justice of the Peace.

Cr Davies assumed the Chair and thanked fellow Councillors for their support and welcomed the newly elected Councillors, Cr Becky Cowcill, Cr John Haythornthwaite and Cr Jonathan Hippisley.

ITEM 4 ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Shire President requested that the Chief Executive Officer continue with the election process for the Office of Deputy Shire President.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that the following written nominations had been received: -

Cr Davies nominated Cr McGuinness

Cr McGuinness verbally accepted the Nomination.

Cr Hippisley nominated Cr Jo Haythornthwaite.

Cr Jo Haythornthwaite verbally accepted the Nomination.

The Chief Executive Officer called for any further nominations and there were no further nominations received.

A Secret Ballot Election was conducted by the Chief Executive Officer.

The Chief Executive Officer declared the result of the Election with Cr Jo Haythornthwaite receiving 5 Votes and Cr McGuinness receiving 3 Votes.

Cr Jo Haythornthwaite was declared elected to the Office of Deputy Shire President for a term of two (2) years concluding in October 2023.

Cr Jo Haythornthwaite then took the Declaration of Office of Deputy Shire President officiated by the Shire President and witnessed by Mrs Shirley Stacey, Justice of the Peace.

Cr Jo Haythornthwaite thanked Councillors for their support in her election to the Office of Deputy Shire President.

ITEM 5 PUBLIC QUESTION TIME

Nil.

ITEM 6 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Councillors to use pro forma declaration of interest handed to Chief Executive Officer prior to meeting or verbal declaration of interest.

Nil received.

The Chief Executive Officer provided a brief commentary on the Declaration of Interest provisions and invited Councillors to contact the Shire President or himself to discuss any potential Interest and their Declaration.

ITEM 8 CLOSURE

Cr Davies thanked both Cr Jo Haythornthwaite and Cr McGuinness for accepting the Nominations for the Office of Deputy Shire President.

Cr Davies thanked Cr McGuinness for his efforts as Deputy Shire President over the past 2 years.

Cr Davies also thanked Justice of the Peace, Mrs Shirley Stacey for her attendance and for her role in the Declarations of the Elected Members and Office Bearers.

There being no further business, the Chairperson closed the Special Council Meeting at 6.28 pm.

I certify the Minutes of the Special Meeting of Council held on 21st October 2019 were confirmed on 31st October 2019 as recorded on Resolution No.